Book Categories:

Kritimanimalai, Tamil

The original works in this series were written in Tamil by Sri Rangaramanuja Ayyangar. Starting with the first compilation with notations of 100 compositions of Sri Tyagaraja in 1947, the series evolved into a four volume set with around 1500 compositions of most of the composers of Carnatic Music and is considered to be one of most comprehensive collections of its type.

The first three volumes of the series covering compositions of Sri Tyagaraja and Sri Dikshitar were adapted into English by Smt Padma Varadan. These introduced gamaka markings to the original notation.

The fifth edition of the first two parts of the series in Tamil (Sri Tyagaraja's compositions) was published in 2015. These volumes featured the gamaka markings carried down from the English adaptations.

For an overview of concepts and features in the Kritimanimalai series, click here.